How I Do It…

Since becoming a mom of 3 under 3 (3 under 2 for a little while there, sheesh!), I often hear two different phrases from friends, family, even strangers. The first is, “boy, you have your hands full”… more on that special little statement in another post to come.

But I also frequently hear the question, “How do you do it?” Or, “I don’t know how you do it.” Or something similar, you get the point. My short answer is, how do I not do it? These are my kids, this is my life, I do it because I don’t have any other choice. But truthfully, there is a great deal more to it.

This will probably sound strange to all but a few, but I have given this question quite a bit of thought, and I honestly believe that one of the secrets to my success (and by success I mean enjoying 90% of my day and not pulling my hair out or going crazy, oh and keeping all the kids alive too) is my background as a news producer. Crazy, right? Well, maybe not so much.

I’ve always said it takes a certain kind of person to make a good producer. It has nothing to do with intelligence, it has to do with how your brain is wired, and I think producers’ brains are just wired a little differently. Think about it, it’s a job that is all about multi-tasking, assessing on the fly, keeping your cool, planning ahead, etc, etc. You have to be able to juggle a dozen balls all at once, without dropping any of them. And you have to make deadline. Period.

In a way, managing the needs of three small children, and the house, and the finances, and on and on, is a similar dance. You are constantly multi-tasking, because each child needs something different at the same time, and don’t forget your own needs, like say eating from time to time, or going to the restroom. When all three kids are screaming at once, I compare it to triage in the ER. You have to quickly assess who needs you the most first, and who will survive if left to cry for an extra minute or two. And of course, no matter what is going on, you have to keep your cool, because you are in charge and three small sets of eyes are always looking to you for guidance.

Do I keep my cool 100 percent of the time? Of course not. I’m human. But I try my best. Do I always make deadline? In my new “newscast” my deadline is having three kids who are fed, changed, healthy, safe, and most of the time happy. So yes, I do always make deadline. Because there is no other option in my book. Period.

Leave a Reply

