Let’s Play… Guess That Baby!

We know for a fact that Ben and Alex are identical twins, since they shared a placenta. Throughout the vast majority of my pregnancy, I stressed out about the possibility of not being able to tell them apart. When they were born, I dreaded taking off their hospital bands that said who was “A” and who was “B” (Ben was A and Alex was B, just to make it a little more confusing!) I spent countless hours comparing features, searching for differences, before I finally realized that as any good mother, I did in fact know who was who. That being said, our boys do look very similar, and Alan and I both have been caught off guard a time or two, if we aren’t looking closely, we can get confused.

The other night my dear hubby and I were finishing things up downstairs, getting ready for bed, when one of the babies started crying. Alan headed upstairs first, but I could hear the crying quickly escalating on the monitor. These days, that means it’s a reflux issue, and the only thing that’s going to help is a shot of milk to cool the burning. Mommy to the rescue!

As soon as I got up to the boys’ room, Alan handed me the upset boy and we immediately got to nursing, hoping I could give him some relief and keep him from waking his brothers. The room was dark, and as I sat there rocking my poor angel, I realized that I had absolutely no idea who I was holding! I hadn’t bothered to glance into the cribs, we had dressed the boys in similar pajamas that night, and there was no noise coming from the cribs on the other side of the room. Plus it was simply too dark to see facial features.

So I decided to create a little guessing game for myself. I started by feeling the baby’s weight. Alex has always weighed a little more than his brother, though they’ve never been more than a pound apart. This baby felt a little heavier, so my first thought was Alex. But at the same time, Ben has just gone through a bit of a growth spurt, so maybe this wasn’t too reliable.

Next criteria, mannerisms. Ben has a habit of kind of pawing at me and playing while he nurses, even when half asleep. This baby was doing just that, so now I’m leaning toward it being Ben.

I still wasn’t 100% sure who I had, but I was feeling pretty confident it was Ben, when someone finally started making slight rustling sounds from the other side of the room. Sure enough, the sounds were coming from Alex’s crib, I was right!

So now it’s your turn to play the guessing game. Feel free to comment on who is who in the photo below. Correct guesses will win 1,000 made-up, pretend, don’t mean anything, points….. And… go!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. thefuturemrsbrandman
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 14:02:57

    Alex is on the right?

    Super hard since we haven’t met these guys yet!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

