Goals for the New Year

Well a new year is upon us, in fact it’s been here for almost a week now, but let’s face it, I’ve been busy! I don’t believe in making resolutions, I’ve never been known to keep one in my life. But I do believe in making goals, so let me take a moment to write them all down.

1. Blog more: I have been terrible about blogging lately. Yes I am busy, so I have an excuse. But this blog is designed to be my journal through these wonderful and crazy early moments of my boys’ lives. I don’t do baby books. I bought one for Connor, filled out about two pages, and it’s been sitting on the shelf ever since. So if I’m going to mark milestones and accomplishments, and thoughts and feelings, I need to journal it as they come. So I will try to be better about that.

2. Get in better shape: Please note, I didn’t say diet. I can’t diet. Breastfeeding twins takes a LOT out of me. I swear I eat like a pig most of the time, and I’m still well below my pre-pregnancy weight, thanks to breastfeeding. In fact, if I don’t eat enough calories in the day, I find that my blood sugar will often drop and I feel dizzy. So no cutting calories. But I do want to do something about all this pregnancy flab. I will be in a wedding this summer where I will see all of my family and a number of friends/acquaintances from my past. I don’t want anyone to look at me and say, “she looks good for having had three kids.” I want them to say, “she looks good!”

3. Make some extra money: I don’t want to go back to work fulltime right now. I love, love, love being home with my boys. I’m able to be there for all the firsts, I don’t have to be attached to a pump all day, my kids are not sick every other week from daycare, and I feel like I’m exactly where I belong right now. But it’s hard to support a family of five on one modest salary, so if I can come up with a few side projects, things that can be done in my spare time from home, just to help pay a few bills…. that’s my goal. I have a few ideas on the horizon, I won’t write more about them just yet, but the possibilities do exist.

4. Get Connor potty trained: If anyone has the phone number to the potty training fairy, can you please send it my way? My dear sweet wonderful boy…. sigh…. he doesn’t want to use the potty, he doesn’t want to have his diaper changed. He wants all bathroom related functions to magically take care of themselves. We’ve tried prizes, incentives, nothing has clicked yet. So my goal is to keep trying, stay patient, and hope for a miracle, hahaha.

Okay, I think that’s a good start for goals. Because at the end of the day, my number one goal is to simply enjoy my wonderful men and this beautiful life that God has given us. I know this time will go so quickly, I want to live in the moment and count my blessings. And I am certainly blessed!

Happy New Year everyone! May 2013 bring you happiness and good health.DSC_0012

Leave a Reply

