My Little Secret to Stress Relief

I have a confession to make, I.Am.Stressed.Out…. big time. I guess lately I’ve just been feeling this overwhelming sense of, well, being overwhelmed. There are so many things I feel like I need to do, want to do, have to do, to keep our family running smoothly, and there simply aren’t enough hours in the day, aren’t enough “me’s” to go around, and never enough rest. It seems like I get five things crossed off the proverbial to-do list, only to add 15 more. So yes, I am stressed out. And that leads to anxiety, which leads to trouble sleeping, which just makes things harder…. sigh.

But the other night, my amazing husband reminded me of the secret to relieving stress. We were just finishing up dinner and I was in a less than pleasant mood, because of all the stress I was feeling. As I was lifting Benjamin out of his high chair, Alan stopped me and asked me to do something for him that would only take a few seconds. In my head, of course, I’m thinking, “geez, what else can I possibly add to my list of things to do?!?” Then my Knight in shining armor told me to take the child who was still in my arms, and just simply stare him in the eyes for five seconds. So I lifted Ben up until our noses were touching, and I met the gaze of his beautiful blue/hazel eyes, and immediately I felt the scowl on my face change into a smile, the wrinkles from my forehead disappear, the tension in my body lift. And there I was, laughing as I gazed upon one of my three greatest creations, as he giggled right back at me.

Sometimes it takes something that simple to remember what it’s all about. Yes I still have a million things I want to get done, that I firmly believe will make our lives easier/better/whatever. But at the end of the day, what really matters is ourselves, our family circle, and creating moments like that when we can simply enjoy the love that surrounds us. Sometimes you really do have to stop and smell the roses… or in my case, that sweet baby smell as you press your nose to the nose of someone you love so dearly.

My little stress reliever (Benjamin)

My little stress reliever (Benjamin)

Leave a comment