A Little “Me” Time

Without a doubt, I have the best job in the whole wide world, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything. That being said, my job is 24/7, 365, and sometimes I forget to take time for myself, a little “me” time, if you will. That’s why this past weekend was perfect, a day of skiing in the Colorado mountains, a chance to just do something fun for myself and not be “on the clock.”

My dad came out for a ski trip do-over, after our attempts at a ski trip over Christmas week ended with an unfortunate trip to the emergency room. I won’t go into details, everyone is fine, but obviously the ski aspect of the trip was a total bust. So we decided to give it one more shot this past Sunday. To be honest, it was hard to spend the whole day away from the kids. I am addicted to my boys! But I know I need to take time every once in a while to just be me and do something nice for myself. And I’m thankful I got the opportunity.

I do have a funny story to share, though, a real, “you know you’re a mom when…” You see, when I was growing up, our extended family would take ski trips to Tahoe. My dear, sweet aunt would often tell me to sing a song as I was carving my way down the mountain. Sort of a way to just let your mind go and really get into the moment, an emotional release along with the physical of gliding across the snow, feeling the wind on your face, etc.

So there I was on Sunday, carving my way down the slopes, getting into a groove and thoroughly enjoying myself, and I remembered the idea of singing a song… And I searched my brain for a song…. and all I could come up with were nursery rhymes and the likes of “The Wheels on the Bus.” Oye. Needless to say, there was no singing on the mountain coming from me. I guess it’s hard to stay up on the current Top 40 hits when your car’s CD player is stuck in a Raffi loop. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

