Sleep Training: Night 9

I think it is safe to say that this will be my final “sleep training” post. Last night…. drum roll please…. no wake ups!!!!! Not a single one! I am ready to claim victory in the sleep training battle, yay!

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t for an instant think that we have 18 years of uninterrupted sleep ahead of us now. There will always be sick kids, nightmares, teething, crazy howling wind…. it’s gonna happen. But I know we are on the right track, and I am so thankful for all of the help and support Alan and I have received in this struggle, from family, friends, fellow parents of multiples… it really has meant the world to us to know we weren’t alone in our sleep-deprived fog.

The most amazing part of all of this, besides of course getting to sleep more than 2 hours at a stretch, is that we are already seeing a marked improvement in Ben and Alex. They have always been happy and healthy babies, but as of late, the wear and tear of not getting quality sleep has been taking its toll on them. They had been fussy, cranky, hard to console, all around miserable. Now we are seeing more ready smiles again, and I am so thankful that my boys are finally getting the rest their little bodies need as they grow.

Because of the reflux/milk allergy issues, and then teething coming right after, I would not have started sleep training sooner, had I it all to do over again. I think this timing was exactly what our family needed, and I’m glad we bit the bullet, so to speak, and made it happen.

Now the next battle royal for the Knight household… potty training!!! Just kidding, it won’t be a battle, I will be patient, I promise. =) (Andrew, you won’t mind a ring bearer still in diapers, will you???)

Leave a Reply

