Stay-at-Home-Mommy Guilt

I really just need to take a moment to tell the world how absolutely amazing and selfless my husband is. We’ve all been through “Mommy guilt,” but tonight I am feeling a serious case of “stay at home Mommy guilt” because every day I get to enjoy the best job I could ever ask for.

What did I do today? I took the boys to the pool. I hung out poolside with Ben and Alex and friends, while Connor and his best friend took their very first swim lesson. Afterward we came home and drank smoothies. Not exactly your grueling 9-to-5, huh? Don’t get me wrong, not every day is this easy and fun. Raising three children, who until just recently, were all under the age of 3, is hard work… very hard work. There are days when I want to pull my hair out and scream from the top of my lungs. But then there are days like today, when I can just sit back and enjoy the three perfect fruits of our labor, and it almost doesn’t even seem fair.

What did Alan do today? He climbed a tower and hung out (literally), working in 100-degree temperatures for several hours. While I played at the pool. Yup, definitely feeling the guilt right about now…

But you know what is even more incredible? Alan would never ask me to trade places with him. Even though he would love nothing more than to be able to stay home with his boys and be there for every milestone, every silly conversation… he won’t ask for it because he knows how important it is to me to be doing just that, right now. And I love him all the more for it.

So thank you sweetheart. Thank you for giving me the best gift I could ever ask for, this precious time with my boys. Because I know it won’t last forever, it won’t be long until they are off to school, and I must remember to treasure this time always. And I always will.

Leave a Reply

