Growing Older

Typically, this blog is about my three little Knights, but tonight I am going to focus on me. You see, I am but a few short hours away from a fairly significant milestone in my life. Yes, I am turning 30.

The number itself does not bother me. I’m not afraid to be 30, I’m not going to go around saying this is my second 29th birthday, or anything equally ridiculous. There is no shame in growing older, for with it, we hope to grow wiser as well. But perhaps that in itself has led to the dilemma I currently face. Entering my 30s just feels…. so much more grown up. And with that I feel a sense of responsibility, to myself, to my family, to rise to a higher level in all things in my life. I want to be a better person, for myself, for my husband, for my three angel boys. I want to hold myself to a higher standard in everything I do and everything I am. I want to take better care of myself for a change, not just for me, but to set a good example for my kids. I want to be more patient with the boys on the days when my patience is lacking. I want to spend more time rediscovering my own passions in life, be it writing, or music, or whatever. And the list goes on….

I have never been one to make New Year’s resolutions, but I have always been one to set goals for myself. And I do have several particular goals in mind as I enter this new decade of life. Some of those goals are too personal to even list here, but I will share with you the bottom line: to be able to close my eyes at the end of each day knowing that I did everything I could to make that day as special and meaningful as possible for my family, to make sure that we always live for today while working towards tomorrow, to spend each day sharing all the love and laughter that we have to give. It is a perpetual work in progress but the best kind of work I could imagine.

Leave a Reply

