Mess with naps and the whole world falls apart…

Haha, okay that is being completely overdramatic, but I couldn’t resist. I decided it was time for Ben and Alex to drop their second nap of the day, and it feels like chaos and mayhem have ensued every since. But then again, that could just be my Type A personality not handling the change in routine very well.

Yes, I am completely Type A. You could call me anal retentive, and I wouldn’t be offended. I need structure in our lives, I need a schedule/routine. And up until this little experiment, we had a pretty good routine going. During the twins’ first nap of the day, Connor and I would work on his preschool lessons together. It would also give me the opportunity to do a few odds and ends around the house, such as emptying or loading the dishwasher without 20 little fingers “helping.” After the twins got up, we would head out and play, meet up with friends, run errands, whatever. Then after lunch all three went down for a nap, and I got a little peace and quiet to work or recharge.

It was working quite well, until the twins started sleeping longer at nap times and less at night. There is nothing quite like having kids wake you up, ready to start the day at 4:45 am, to make you reevaluate everything. It was time to make a change.

I am operating under the assumption that they will get roughly the same amount of sleep within a 24-hour period. If we cut back on the daytime sleep, they should be able to shift to a longer, more restorative sleep at night. That is the assumption. But I have also always followed the philosophy of letting kids sleep when they are tired, so forcing them to go against the habit is easier said than done.

Overall the shift seems to be going okay for the kids. As for me, well, Type A over here doesn’t have a set schedule/routine anymore, and it is killing me! I’m trying to create a new routine on the fly, thank goodness my kids are a million times more flexible than me. Otherwise I am certain the world truly would fall apart.

DSC_0039Today we tried letting the twins participate in preschool time. This has always been a disaster in the past, so I decided to keep them in their booster chairs after breakfast, and give them crayons to color with while Connor and I worked. The key is for them to be occupied so that they do not try to destroy whatever it is that Connor is working on. Now crayons have never really gone over well in the past, they spend more time in mouths than on pages. But I’ve finally decided the only way the boys will learn is with time and practice. Hey, crayons are non-toxic, right? So no harm no foul if they get chewed on. And judging by the grimaces I see as the boys spit out little flecks of crayon, they understand that these writing utensils really don’t taste that good. My hope is that eventually they will make the connection that if it doesn’t taste good, maybe they shouldn’t try to eat them. Fingers crossed…

DSC_0038

At any rate, I am cautiously optimistic that we have solved the preschool dilemma, and we will try the same approach again tomorrow. My next issue is how best to sync up the boys’ naps. Connor is used to sleeping between 1 and 2 pm. The twins will not make it past 11 am at this point. The past few days we have been able to get Connor to lay down early, and I am just hoping that will last. I want to keep their sleep schedules the same so their lunch schedule will be the same, and it is easier for me to get my active boys out and about during the day. And I’m going to be perfectly honest here, having just a little down time during the day really helps me to keep my sanity and patience in check.

So wish me luck in a hopefully quick and smooth transition for all, myself included!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ourbunch2011
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 12:11:12

    I love reading your posts!

    Reply

  2. Julie Burt Nichols
    Jan 27, 2014 @ 10:18:24

    We just tried crayons with my 15-mo. old boys this weekend. Yeah, major FAIL! Alec would have eaten his as a snack if I hadn’t stopped him. Ah well, I’ll try again later. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

