Winter-time swimming… fun or parental torture device?

After running my literal three-ring circus for more than two and half years, I feel pretty confident in my abilities. Allow me to brag for just a moment… I think I have done an excellent job of learning how to manage three young children at once. Yes, my hands are full, always, and yes I am fine. But every once in a while, a new situation comes along that forces me to pause and think, “Holy S**T! What was I thinking?!?!?!?”

Today we decided to go to the YMCA and swim in the indoor pool with our friends. And I quickly realized that what I agreed to was not going to be a simple feat. First there is the aspect of getting myself and three boys ready to swim. That involved bathing suits, swim diapers, towels, floaties…. Now let us add the fact that it is the dead of winter and bitterly cold outside. And I am now balancing bathing suits, swim diapers, towels, floaties, snow boots, winter coats, hats, and three boys who are wild and crazy after being cooped up in the cold.

I am almost positive that the set-up, get ready, and clean up afterward processes took more time than the actual event. And I know they took more patience and stamina than the process of keeping three boys from drowning could ever take. Yet somehow we survived and even managed to have fun.

Whether or not we will swim again next week? The jury is still out on that one.

Leave a Reply

