Potty training round one: diapers-1, potty-0

I am overdue for an update on our attempts to get the boys out of diapers this weekend. I don’t want to use the term “epic failure” persay, but it didn’t happen. At all. And I am resigned to the fact that for now, that is okay.

We gave it a go on Saturday morning, and were immediately met with resistance. When the child/ren refuse to even sit on the potty for more than a millisecond, nothing is going to happen there. I firmly believe the boys have to be comfortable with the idea of climbing up there before we can ask them to start trying to, ahem, put things in there. So the best we can do now is just encourage them to get up there and sit from time to time, without any pressure.

And honestly, I am okay with that. As much as I am tired of changing diapers all day long, I quickly remembered how debilitating it can be to go through the potty-training process. For the first week after Connor started, we couldn’t leave the house, I couldn’t focus on much of anything besides getting him to the bathroom ALL.THE.TIME. And there are just too many other things going on right now for me to be able to do that. I have to be realistic about my own abilities as their teacher right now, and this week was not the right week.

But maybe next week will be?? Connor is on Spring Break, which means I don’t have to load kids in and out of the car all week. We could, in theory, stay home the whole week. I guess I will do some soul-searching for the next few days and decide whether I want to try. Otherwise, it looks like my next free week to camp out and potty train won’t come until summer vacation…..

Oh, and I really want to just do one boy at a time. So much easier, I think. I hope. Who knows.

Leave a Reply

