One proud mommy

You will have to forgive me, I am going to use this post to shamelessly brag about how amazing my boys are and how proud of them I am. I can’t help it. It has to be done.

Let’s start with Connor. His parent-teacher conference for preschool was yesterday. I had the opportunity to sit down with his teacher and closely examine his progress this year, something I knew was there, but hadn’t really put much thought into. But now that I have, I am so unbelievably proud of my little man, who by the way still has a few more months before he turns 5.

From his preschool teacher: Connor can read, write, and identify the phonics sounds for every letter in the alphabet. He can count from 1 to 79 out loud, and can recognize written numbers up to 25. He can also write the numbers 1 to 10 in order, though a few digits might be backwards. He knows all of his shapes and colors (except tan, darn, I keep forgetting about that one!), uses positional words correctly, holds his pencil properly, and can cut a straight line with scissors. He does a wonderful job participating in class, and is always polite. His teacher called him a “star pupil.”

And that is just the tip of the iceberg. I also know that he can count to 100 by 10s, can count to 50 by 5s, has about 20 sight words down already (maybe more), can name every planet in the solar system in order, can identify the number of syllables in a word… and so much more. Connor is quite literally a sponge for knowledge, he learns so quickly and retains it. I could not be more proud of him, both for everything he has learned, and the fact that he loves and enjoys learning.

Not to be outdone, his brothers are doing fantastic with their learning as well! Just shy of 3 years old, both Alexander and Benjamin speak in full sentences, with an extensive vocabulary. They know almost all of their colors (black and brown are still a little tricky, not to mention that darn tan!). They are in the process of learning shapes, and doing very well with them. They can both count to 10 and count the number of objects on a page correctly. They both know how to sing their ABC’s, can recognize the letters A, B, and C by sight, and Alex will even make the F sound when he sees an F or the M sound when he sees an M. So phonics are coming along well too! Oh, and they can name a few planets too!

I am sure there are other key milestones I am forgetting to mention, but the point is, all three boys are doing fantastic with their learning! I am very proud of each and every one of them, and I only hope that this love of learning stays with them always. It is serving them well.

Leave a Reply

